H.R. No. 3472
         WHEREAS, Residents of Morris County are joining together to
  mark the 175th anniversary of the historic John Wingate and
  Elizabeth Truitt Log Cabin on June 6, 2015; and
         WHEREAS, John Wingate Truitt was a resident of Etowah County,
  Alabama, when he traveled to Texas in 1839 to purchase 320 acres of
  land in what would later become the Jenkins community; the
  following year, he moved with his wife, the former Betsy Robinson,
  and their children to the property and constructed a new home
  reminiscent of those he saw while living in Tennessee; the log cabin
  featured two 18-foot square rooms separated by a 12-foot wide
  dog-trot hallway, with deep porches stretching the full length of
  the house; and
         WHEREAS, The cabin has remained at the same location ever
  since its completion, and the Texas Historical Commission has
  proclaimed the land a Texas Historic Archaeological Site and has
  designated the cabin a Texas Historic Landmark; in 2011, the East
  Texas Communities Foundation began a three-year restoration
  project to return the home to its original condition; and
         WHEREAS, In tribute to this milestone anniversary, a
  celebration is being hosted that will include tours of the cabin, a
  Confederate Honor ceremony for Edward Robinson and James Leonard
  Truitt, and a special program presentation featuring area
  officials; and
         WHEREAS, The John Wingate and Elizabeth Truitt Log Cabin
  provides a vital link to the rich history of its community, and its
  preservation is a testament to the hard work and civic spirit of
  many dedicated citizens; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
  Legislature hereby commemorate the 175th anniversary of the John
  Wingate and Elizabeth Truitt Log Cabin and extend to all those
  participating in this noteworthy celebration sincere best wishes
  for a memorable and enjoyable event.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 3472 was adopted by the House on May
  31, 2015, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House