By: Bell

H.B. No. 2361

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the service areas of certain junior college districts. 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 4 SECTION 1. Section 130.168, Education Code, is amended to 5 read as follows: Sec. 130.168. BLINN JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. 6 7 The service area of the Blinn College District includes the territory within: 8 9 (1) Washington, Burleson, Brazos, Madison, and Grimes[, and Waller] counties; 10 the Mumford, Hearne, and Franklin independent 11 (2) 12 school districts located in Robertson County; 13 (3) Austin County, other than the territory within the 14 Brazos [Wallis-Orchard] Independent School District; 15 (4) the Milano and Gause independent school districts 16 located in Milam County; (5) the part of the Richards Independent School 17 District that is located in Walker and Montgomery counties; 18 (6) the part of the Bryan Independent School District 19 20 that is located in Robertson County; 21 (7) Fayette County, other than the territory within 22 the Smithville Independent School District; 23 (8) Lee County, other than the territory within the Elgin Independent School District; and 24

84R9265 KJE-D

1

H.B. No. 2361 1 (9) the part of the Lexington Independent School District that is located in Bastrop, Milam, and Williamson 2 3 counties. 4 SECTION 2. Section 130.191, Education Code, is amended to 5 read as follows: 6 Sec. 130.191. LONE STAR COLLEGE SYSTEM DISTRICT SERVICE 7 AREA. The service area of the Lone Star College System District 8 includes the territory within: (1) the Aldine, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, 9 10 New Caney, Spring, Tomball, Magnolia, Willis, Montgomery, Splendora, Cleveland, Tarkington, and Klein independent school 11 districts; [and] 12 (2) the Huntsville and New Waverly independent school 13 14 districts in Walker County; and 15 (3) Waller County, other than the territory within the Katy Independent School District. 16 SECTION 3. Section 130.211, Education Code, is amended to 17 read as follows: 18 Sec. 130.211. WHARTON COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT 19 SERVICE AREA. The service area of the Wharton County Junior College 20 District includes the territory within: 21 (1) Wharton County; 22 23 (2) the Needville Independent School District in Fort 24 Bend County; 25 (3) the Brazos [Wallis-Orchard] Independent School 26 District located in Austin County; 27 (4) the Columbus and Weimar [Weimer] independent

2

H.B. No. 2361

1 school districts located in Colorado County;

2 (5) the Rice Consolidated Independent School District3 located in Colorado County;

4 (6) the [Kendleton and] Lamar <u>Consolidated</u>
5 <u>Independent School District</u> [independent school districts] located
6 in Fort Bend County;

7 (7) the Bay City, Boling, Matagorda, Palacios,
8 Tidehaven, and Van Vleck independent school districts located in
9 Matagorda County;

10 (8) the Ganado Independent School District located in11 Jackson County; and

12 (9) the incorporated area and extraterritorial13 jurisdiction of the City of Sugar Land located in Fort Bend County.

SECTION 4. The change in law made by this Act applies beginning with the 2015 fall semester, except that during the 2015-2016 academic year the Blinn Junior College District may continue to treat the area removed by this Act from the district's service area as if the area were still in the district's service area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior college services in the area.

SECTION 5. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this Act takes effect September 1, 2015.

3