By: Miller of Comal H.B. No. 2876

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

T	AN ACT	

- 2 relating to the service areas of certain junior college districts.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 4 SECTION 1. Section 130.166, Education Code, is amended to
- 5 read as follows:
- 6 Sec. 130.166. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE
- 7 AREA. The service area of the Austin Community College District
- 8 includes the territory within:
- 9 (1) Hays, [Gillespie, Caldwell, and Blanco counties;
- 10 (2) Travis County, except the territory within the
- 11 Marble Falls Independent School District;
- 12 (3) Williamson County, except the territory within the
- 13 Florence, Granger, Hutto, Lexington, Taylor, and Thrall
- 14 independent school districts;
- 15 (4) the part of the Nixon-Smiley Consolidated
- 16 Independent School District located in Gonzales County;
- 17 (5) the part of the San Marcos Consolidated
- 18 Independent School District located in Guadalupe County;
- 19 (6) Bastrop County, except the territory within the
- 20 Lexington Independent School District;
- 21 (7) the part of the Elgin Independent School District
- 22 located in Lee County; and
- 23 (8) the part of the Smithville Independent School
- 24 District located in Fayette County.

H.B. No. 2876

- 1 SECTION 2. Section 130.171, Education Code, is amended to
- 2 read as follows:
- 3 Sec. 130.171. CENTRAL TEXAS COLLEGE DISTRICT SERVICE AREA.
- 4 The service area of the Central Texas College District includes the
- 5 territory within:
- 6 (1) the Killeen Independent School District, located
- 7 in Bell County;
- 8 (2) the Copperas Cove Independent School District,
- 9 located in Coryell County;
- 10 (3) Fort Hood and North Fort Hood, located in Bell
- 11 County;
- 12 (4) Coryell, Gillespie, Hamilton, Lampasas, Llano,
- 13 Mason, Mills, and San Saba counties;
- 14 (5) the Brady, Lohn, and Rochelle independent school
- 15 districts located in McCullough County;
- 16 (6) the Burnet Consolidated Independent School
- 17 District located in Burnet County;
- 18 (7) the Florence Independent School District;
- 19 (8) the part of the Lampasas Independent School
- 20 District that is located in Burnet County;
- 21 (9) the part of the Lampasas Independent School
- 22 District that is located in Bell County;
- 23 (10) the part of the Copperas Cove Independent School
- 24 District that is located in Bell County; and
- 25 (11) the Marble Falls Independent School District.
- SECTION 3. The change in law made by this Act applies
- 27 beginning with the 2015 fall semester, except that during the

H.B. No. 2876

- 1 2015-2016 academic year the Austin Community College District may
- 2 continue to treat the area removed by this Act from the district's
- 3 service area as if the area were still in the district's service
- 4 area as necessary to avoid an unreasonable interruption of junior
- 5 college services in the area.
- 6 SECTION 4. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
- 7 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
- 8 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
- 9 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
- 10 Act takes effect September 1, 2015.