H.C.R. No. 128

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Shanna Peeples of the Amarillo Independent School
 District has been named the 2015 National Teacher of the Year by the
 Council of Chief State School Officers; and

WHEREAS, The chair of the English department at Palo Duro 4 5 High School, Ms. Peeples teaches AP English and English III; she has distinguished herself through her exceptional dedication to 6 7 helping students from all backgrounds realize their full potential; she also serves as a compassionate mentor to her students; she 8 9 further benefits the campus as an instructional coach, as National Honor Society cosponsor, and as a member of the textbook adoption 10 11 committee and the D-FORCE positive behavioral support committee; 12 after school hours, she opens her classroom for use as a safe space for informal writing and discussion groups; and 13

14 WHEREAS, This dynamic educator has been a member of the Amarillo Independent School District English Language Arts 15 Standards committee since 2009; moreover, she 16 has conducted literacy workshops for K-12 teachers, and she has presented 17 numerous papers at staff development events and professional 18 conferences of organizations such as the National Council of 19 Teachers of English, the Texas Council of Teachers of English 20 21 Language Arts, and Abydos Learning International; in addition, she is active in the wider community in initiatives that promote 22 23 literacy and the development of writing ability; and

24 WHEREAS, Before joining the faculty at Palo Duro High School,

1

## H.C.R. No. 128

Ms. Peeples taught seventh grade English Language Arts at Horace Mann Middle School in Amarillo; she completed her bachelor's degree in English at West Texas A&M University and went on to earn a master's degree in education from The University of Texas at Arlington, specializing in curriculum and instruction with an emphasis in literacy studies; and

7 WHEREAS, Ms. Peeples works vigorously to understand the 8 challenges faced by each of her students and tailors the learning 9 environment to meet their needs; she uses these skills to guide the 10 college-bound, assist those who come from foreign nations and have 11 spent little time in classroom settings, and advise parents about 12 the importance of education to the future prospects of their 13 children; and

14 WHEREAS, It could be said that Ms. Peeples is in the hope 15 business; she assists students in coping with the trials of adolescence by encouraging self-expression in writing exercises; a 16 17 kind and caring mentor, she devotes countless hours to advising youngsters, and she conveys her respect for their traditions by 18 19 accepting invitations to cultural events; she was previously selected as 2015 Texas Teacher of the Year and 2015 Region 16 20 21 Secondary Teacher of the Year; and

22 WHEREAS, Shanna Peeples is devoted to providing young Texans 23 with the knowledge and skills they need to realize their dreams, and 24 her passion, determination, and commitment to excellence are an 25 inspiration to her students and fellow educators alike; and

26 WHEREAS, In her role as National Teacher of the Year, 27 Ms. Peeples will travel extensively as a spokesperson for her

2

1 profession, sharing her knowledge, experience, and passion for 2 education to inspire her colleagues across the country; now, 3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 84th Legislature of the State of Texas
hereby congratulate Shanna Peeples on her selection as the 2015
National Teacher of the Year and extend to her sincere best wishes
for continued success in her important work; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Peeples as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

> Price Smithee King of Hemphill Aycock VanDeaver

H.C.R. No. 128

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.C.R. No. 128

H.C.R. No. 128

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 128 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 128 was adopted by the Senate on May 28, 2015, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED:

Date

Governor