H.R. No. 56

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2015 marks the 100th anniversary of the
founding of Little's Boot Company in San Antonio; and

3 WHEREAS, This notable institution was established by Lucien 4 Little as a shoe retail and repair shop in 1915; he later taught his 5 skills to his son, Ben, who went on to specialize in the craft of 6 bootmaking and earn acclaim by designing footwear for ranchers and 7 cowboys in San Antonio in the 1940s; and

8 WHEREAS, Since Ben Little's passing in 1966, his sons, John 9 and Dave, have furthered the family tradition and the company's 10 legacy of custom handmade boots; today, the brothers are preparing 11 to pass the torch to a fourth generation of owners, Dave's children, 12 Sharon and Duane; and

WHEREAS, Locally owned and operated businesses play a vital role in the prosperity of the Lone Star State, and those enterprises that build a record of dependability and longevity enjoy a special degree of esteem in their communities; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 18 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of Little's 19 Boot Company and extend to all those involved in the business 20 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the family as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

Villalba

1

H.R. No. 56

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 56

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 56 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House