RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The hardships of our nation's wars in Iraq and 2 Afghanistan are borne not only by the military personnel who fight in the wars, but also by their loved ones, and the Gratitude 3 Initiative, a Texas-based charity, works to aid these families; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Since the events of September 11, 2001, millions of active duty military, National Guard, and reserve unit troops have 6 7 served in combat zones, and over three million family members, including more than one million children, have been left at home to 8 9 deal with the deployment; parted from their mothers or fathers for months at a time, these children often find themselves struggling 10 11 academically and may face emotional issues caused 12 separation; and WHEREAS, The Gratitude Initiative was founded in Texas by 13 14 U.S. Army combat veteran and entrepreneur Lee Sechrist to help address the needs of these families by providing educational 15 16 support and scholarships for children and families of military 17 service members, veterans, disabled veterans, and those killed in action; and 18 WHEREAS, Military children endure separation and loss so that 19 their parents might defend our nation, and all those involved with 20 21 the notable endeavors of the Gratitude Initiative to assist these 22 children truly merit special recognition and praise;
 - 1

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

23

24

therefore, be it

H.R. No. 58

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize January 27, 2015, as Gratitude
- 2 Initiative/GI Kids Day in Texas and that the citizens of Texas be
- 3 encouraged to honor our military families and children for their
- 4 service to our nation and state.

Raney Kacal

H.R. No. 58

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat

Nevárez

Oliveira

Gonzales

González

Zedler

Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 58 was	adopted by the House on January
15. by a non-record vote.	

H.R. No. 58

Chief Clerk of the House

27, 2015, by a non-record vote.