H.R. No. 111

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The board of trustees of the Arlington Independent
- 2 School District has been chosen as the 2014 Outstanding School
- 3 Board by the Texas Association of School Administrators; and
- WHEREAS, Created in 1971, the TASA School Board Awards
- 5 Program recognizes boards that have demonstrated exceptional
- 6 dedication and rendered ethical service to Texas schoolchildren;
- 7 the winning board is selected from five finalists based on its
- 8 commitment to student achievement and well-being; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Working closely with parents, educational
- 10 professionals, and other community members, the AISD school board
- 11 has devoted itself to establishing an innovative and rigorous
- 12 learning system that empowers the district's approximately 65,000
- 13 students to become successful, responsible citizens; and
- WHEREAS, The officers of the board are Bowie Hogg, president;
- 15 Jamie Sullins, vice president; Dr. Aaron Reich, secretary; and John
- 16 Hibbs, assistant secretary; the other members are Gloria Peña,
- 17 Peter Baron, and Kecia Mays; the trustees coordinate with AISD
- 18 superintendent Marcelo Cavazos to create an effective and
- 19 harmonious administration; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Through their clear-sighted vision of excellence
- 21 and their thoughtful and decisive leadership style, these
- 22 individuals have ensured the highest standards for Arlington
- 23 schools and are truly deserving of praise for their efforts in
- 24 behalf of their district; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 111

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor the Arlington Independent School District
- 3 Board of Trustees for being named the 2014 Outstanding School Board
- 4 by the Texas Association of School Administrators and extend to the
- 5 AISD board members sincere best wishes for continued success with
- 6 their important work; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Turner of Tarrant Krause Stickland Tinderholt Zedler

H.R. No. 111

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 111 was adopted by the House on January 28, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House