By: Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 111

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The board of trustees of the Arlington Independent
 School District has been chosen as the 2014 Outstanding School
 Board by the Texas Association of School Administrators; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1971, the TASA School Board Awards Program recognizes boards that have demonstrated exceptional dedication and rendered ethical service to Texas schoolchildren; the winning board is selected from five finalists based on its commitment to student achievement and well-being; and

9 WHEREAS, Working closely with parents, educational 10 professionals, and other community members, the AISD school board 11 has devoted itself to establishing an innovative and rigorous 12 learning system that empowers the district's approximately 65,000 13 students to become successful, responsible citizens; and

14 WHEREAS, The officers of the board are Bowie Hogg, president; 15 Jamie Sullins, vice president; Dr. Aaron Reich, secretary; and John 16 Hibbs, assistant secretary; the other members are Gloria Peña, 17 Peter Baron, and Kecia Mays; the trustees coordinate with AISD 18 superintendent Marcelo Cavazos to create an effective and 19 harmonious administration; and

20 WHEREAS, Through their clear-sighted vision of excellence 21 and their thoughtful and decisive leadership style, these 22 individuals have ensured the highest standards for Arlington 23 schools and are truly deserving of praise for their efforts in 24 behalf of their district; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 111

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the Arlington Independent School District 3 Board of Trustees for being named the 2014 Outstanding School Board 4 by the Texas Association of School Administrators and extend to the 5 AISD board members sincere best wishes for continued success with 6 their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.