H.R. No. 115

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Stephen F. Austin State University men's 2 basketball team created a memorable season for its fans in 3 2013-2014, winning a conference championship and capturing the 4 program's first NCAA Tournament victory; and

WHEREAS, In the first year under new head coach Brad 5 Underwood, the Lumberjacks employed an attacking offense and a 6 pressure defense en route to an undefeated mark versus league 7 opponents during the regular season; entering the Southland 8 Conference Tournament as the number one seed, they bested 9 Northwestern State University and then defeated Sam Houston State 10 11 University in the championship game to claim the tournament crown 12 and secure a spot in the 2014 NCAA Tournament; and

13 WHEREAS, Matched with the squad from Virginia Commonwealth University in the second round of the "Big Dance," SFA jumped out to 14 a double-digit lead early in the second half before a furious 15 comeback put VCU up by four; with only three seconds remaining in 16 regulation, senior guard Desmond Haymon completed an improbable 17 four-point play to send the game into overtime; the Lumberjacks 18 then proved their resiliency once again as they held on for a 77-75 19 victory to continue their postseason run; in the subsequent 20 21 third-round matchup with UCLA, the team fought admirably but 22 ultimately fell to the Bruins, bringing the historic season to a 23 close; and

24

WHEREAS, The Lumberjacks' impressive performance in the NCAA

1

H.R. No. 115

1 Tournament capped an unforgettable year in which SFA compiled a 29-game winning streak while finishing with an overall record of 32 2 3 wins and just 3 losses; the team's remarkable season was the result the outstanding efforts of each member of the roster: 4 of 5 Mr. Haymon, Connor Brooks, Ben Brown-White, Dallas Cameron, Tanner Clayton, Patrick Costello, Justin Dotson, Nikola Gajic, Jason 6 Martin, Jacob Parker, Trey Pinkney, Sharife Sergeant, Deshaunt 7 Walker, Thomas Walkup, and Reed Westbrook; moreover, these talented 8 student-athletes received vital support from Coach Underwood as 9 10 well as from assistant coaches Mike Boynton Jr., Stephen Gentry, and Erik Pastrana; and 11

WHEREAS, The Stephen F. Austin State University men's basketball team is a source of tremendous pride to all those associated with the university, and the team's superlative accomplishments indeed merit special recognition; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 18 Legislature hereby honor the Stephen F. Austin State University 19 men's basketball team on its achievements during the 2013-2014 20 season and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere 21 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Clardy

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 115

H.R. No. 115

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 115 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House