H.R. No. 116

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Kilgore College Rangerettes organization is 2 marking its 75th anniversary in 2015, and this milestone provides a 3 fitting opportunity to honor this beloved Texas institution; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1939 to fulfill the twofold purpose of 4 5 attracting more women to the school while also keeping fans in their seats during halftime at football games, the precision drill team, 6 the first of its kind in the world, was created by physical 7 education instructor Gussie Nell Davis; since the retirement of 8 9 Miss Davis in 1979, the Rangerettes have been led by just two directors, Deana Covin from 1979 to 1993 and Dana Blair, the current 10 11 director and the first to have also been a Rangerette; in 1948, 12 Denard Haden became the team's first choreographer and developed innovative patterns and steps that are still used by dance and drill 13 14 teams today; and

WHEREAS, This elite troupe has delighted 15 audiences 16 throughout the nation and abroad in dynamic shows featuring high kicks and vintage red, white, and blue costumes; the Rangerettes 17 performed at inauguration festivities for Presidents Barack Obama 18 and George W. Bush, marched in Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parades, and 19 20 participated in such events as the Chinese New Year celebration in 21 Singapore, the Saint Patrick's Day Parade and Lord Mayor's Ball in Dublin, Ireland, and Carnival celebrations in Nice, Paris, and 22 23 Cannes, France; and

24 WHEREAS, For three-quarters of a century, members of the

1

1 Kilgore College Rangerettes have served as ambassadors for Kilgore 2 College and the Lone Star State, and in doing so, they have built 3 the group's well-deserved reputation for excellence; now, 4 therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Kilgore 7 College Rangerettes and extend to all those involved with the 8 organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the Kilgore College Rangerettes as an expression of 11 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Clardy Simpson

H.R. No. 116

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 116

H.R. No. 116

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 116 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House