H.R. No. 122

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Allen High School football team furthered its 2 reputation as a gridiron powerhouse by winning the 2014 University 3 Interscholastic League 6A Division 1 championship, taking home the 4 state title for the third year in a row and for the fourth time since 5 2008; and

6 WHEREAS, In the course of a season in which they compiled a 7 perfect 16-0 record, the Eagles claimed the district title before 8 beginning the postseason with victories over Keller Central, 9 DeSoto, Martin, and Trinity High Schools; Allen then faced off 10 against Skyline High in the semifinals, where the team rallied from 11 a second-half deficit to win 52-34 and earn a trip to the state 12 championship game; and

13 WHEREAS, The Eagles jumped out to a quick lead against 14 Cypress Ranch High School in the title contest, as quarterback Kyler Murray connected with teammate Cody Butler for a touchdown 15 pass to put Allen ahead 7-0; Cypress Ranch pulled to within four 16 points late in the second quarter, but the Eagles' offense 17 responded with a last-minute touchdown drive to take a 21-10 lead 18 into halftime; the Allen players continued their fine performance 19 in the second half, as they overwhelmed their opponent on both sides 20 21 of the ball on their way to an impressive 47-16 victory; and

22 WHEREAS, The triumph extended Allen's current winning streak 23 to an exceptional 43 games; moreover, it gave the Eagles the 24 distinction of being one of just four teams to have collected three

1

1 consecutive titles in the state's top high school classification; 2 and

3 WHEREAS, Under the direction of head coach Tom Westerberg, 4 the Eagles received essential contributions throughout the year 5 from each member of the roster as they once again proved themselves 6 one of the premier squads in the Lone Star State; and

7 WHEREAS, Winning three consecutive state championships is a 8 rare feat that is the culmination of countless hours of hard work 9 and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and these dedicated 10 student-athletes may take justifiable pride in their outstanding 11 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Allen High School football team on winning the 2014 UIL 6A Division 1 state championship and extend sincere best wishes to the team's players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 19 House of Representatives.

> Leach Laubenberg Turner of Collin Shaheen Sanford

H.R. No. 122

2

H.R. No. 122

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 122 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House