H.R. No. 123

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Stars reached the pinnacle of success by 2 winning the 2014 Calder Cup Championship, securing the title with a 3 4-3 overtime victory in Game 5 of the American Hockey League Finals 4 on June 17; and

5 WHEREAS, The cup victory closed out an unforgettable year in which the Stars won the AHL West Division and compiled a league-best 6 7 record of 48 wins, 18 losses, and 3 ties; entering the postseason as the No. 1 seed, Texas quickly dispatched the Oklahoma City Barons 8 9 in a three-game sweep before defeating the Grand Rapids Griffins in the Western Conference semifinals; the squad then took on the 10 11 Toronto Marlies in the conference finals, where they emerged 12 victorious after a hard-fought, seven-game series to earn a spot in 13 the Calder Cup Finals; and

14 WHEREAS, Facing off against the St. John's IceCaps, the Stars won three of the first four games in the series, with exciting 15 overtime victories coming in Games 3 and 4; in the deciding contest, 16 Texas jumped out to a 2-0 lead early in the second period after 17 goals by Mike Hedden and Brett Ritchie; the IceCaps rallied to take 18 the lead in the third frame, but the Stars responded with a tying 19 20 goal to send the game into overtime; there, Texas goalkeeper 21 Cristopher Nilstorp kept the Stars alive with several key saves before defenseman Patrik Nemeth clinched the championship with a 22 23 backhand shot into the goal with 5:30 remaining in overtime; and 24 WHEREAS, Under the skilled guidance of head coach Willie

1

H.R. No. 123

1 Desjardins and with additional support from general manager Scott White, the Stars benefited from clutch performances from each 2 member of the roster during the team's exemplary 2013-2014 3 campaign; in recognition of his exceptional efforts, Texas center 4 5 Travis Morin won the AHL most valuable player award as well as the Calder Cup Playoffs MVP honor; moreover, left winger Curtis 6 McKenzie was honored for his impressive debut season with the Stars 7 8 by being named the winner of the league's outstanding rookie award; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, By capturing the first AHL championship in the 11 history of the franchise, the Texas Stars have won the hearts of 12 their many loyal fans in the Central Texas area and beyond, and the 13 team's players and staff may take great pride in their remarkable 14 accomplishments on the ice; now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 16 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Stars on winning the 2014 17 AHL Calder Cup Championship and extend sincere best wishes to all 18 those who shared in the thrill of the team's title-winning season; 19 and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 22 House of Representatives.

Dale

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 123

H.R. No. 123

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 123 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House