H.R. No. 129

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Business and community leaders from San Patricio
County are gathering in Austin on February 12, 2015, to celebrate
San Patricio County Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated upon the broad coastal plain along the Gulf of Mexico, this region was originally inhabited by the Karankawa Indians; less than 30 years after Columbus discovered America, a European explorer sailed into the bay behind Aransas Pass, and over the next 200 years the territory was visited by Spanish and French explorers and Mexican sheepherders; and

WHEREAS, In 1829, 200 Irish families from New York formed a colony under a contract with the government of Mexico and founded the town of San Patricio de Hibernia, after Saint Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland; the town was the site of a battle during the Texas Revolution in 1836, and later that same year, San Patricio Sounty was created by the new Republic of Texas; and

16 WHEREAS, By 1860, San Patricio County was occupied by ranchers and farmers, and during the Civil War, a Confederate fort 17 was placed at Aransas Pass to deal with smugglers, rustlers, and 18 Federal raiders; the county's economy was boosted in 1885 when the 19 San Antonio and Aransas Pass Railway was extended to Aransas 20 21 Harbor; the town of Sinton, named after an Ohio banker who had 22 invested in the area's development, was named county seat in 1893; 23 and

24 WHEREAS, Oil and gas were discovered in the county in the

1

H.R. No. 129

1 early 20th century, and the petroleum industry and agriculture 2 continue to be the foundation of the economy; cotton, sorghum, and 3 cattle are all major products, along with shrimp from the 4 commercial fisheries along the coast; the deepwater port at Aransas 5 Pass is easily accessible to northern markets by rail, highway, and 6 the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway; and

7 WHEREAS, Today, the residents of San Patricio County enjoy a 8 relaxed rural lifestyle while taking advantage of their proximity 9 to the urban amenities of Corpus Christi; hunters, birders, 10 kayakers, snorkelers, and devotees of sport fishing travel to the 11 county for its many opportunities for recreation; the county is 12 also home to the Welder Wildlife Refuge, one of the largest 13 privately endowed refuges in the world; and

14 WHEREAS, Celebrating their colorful past even as they work to 15 build a bright future, the residents of San Patricio County may 16 indeed take great pride in this distinctive part of the Lone Star 17 State; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 19 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2015, as San Patricio 20 County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting 21 delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit 22 to Austin.

> Lozano Hunter

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 129

H.R. No. 129

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 129 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House