H.R. No. 136

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Senior Corporal James David Byas of the Dallas 2 Police Department has been named the 2014 Cops' Cop Officer of the 3 Year by the Dallas Police Association, providing a fitting opportunity to pay tribute to this dedicated peace officer; and 4 5 WHEREAS, J. D. Byas joined the Dallas Police Department in August 1985, and he served with the Northwest Patrol Division 6 7 before joining the SWAT team; exceptionally skilled negotiations, he has earned the respect and admiration of his 8 fellow officers for his ability to maintain a calm and professional 9 demeanor in crisis situations; he has been invited by the FBI Dallas 10 11 Division, the Texas Association of Hostage Negotiators, and other 12 organizations to train law enforcement personnel in all aspects of 13 SWAT operations; he also delivers lectures on crisis negotiations 14 at the DPD Police Academy and is involved in rifle and SWAT training; a mentor to many younger officers, he has demonstrated 15 16 outstanding initiative and leadership throughout his 30-year career and has received numerous commendations from his peers and 17 outside agencies; and 18 WHEREAS, A longtime member of the Dallas Police Association, 19 20 Corporal Byas has served the organization as director and vice 21 president, and he currently oversees member services; moreover, he 22 represents the DPA in officer-related shootings, and he has 23 volunteered to serve as a liaison between the association and 24 injured officers and their families; and

H.R. No. 136

- 1 WHEREAS, The Cops' Cop award is given to those law
- 2 enforcement professionals who serve with integrity and skill, and
- 3 Senior Corporal J. D. Byas truly represents Dallas's finest; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Senior Corporal James David Byas on
- 7 his selection as the 2014 Cops' Cop Officer of the Year and extend
- 8 to him sincere best wishes for continued success with his important
- 9 work; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Senior Corporal Byas as an expression of high regard by
- 12 the Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 136

Guillen Straus Otto Allen Gutierrez Paddie Harless Parker Alonzo Hernandez Alvarado Paul Anchia Herrero Peña Anderson of Dallas Howard Phelan Anderson of McLennan Huberty Phillips Ashby Hughes Pickett Aycock Hunter Price Bell Isaac Raney Blanco Raymond Israel Bohac Johnson Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Kacal Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Keffer Rinaldi Burkett Keough Rodriguez of Bexar King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis Burns King of Parker Burrows Romero, Jr. King of Taylor Button Rose King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Kleinschmidt Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Wu Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

Guerra

	H.R. No. 136
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 136 was	adopted by the House on January
15, 2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House