By: Sanford

H.R. No. 160

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Baylor University football team achieved great 2 success during the 2014-2015 season, becoming back to back Big 12 3 Conference Champions and reaching the Cotton Bowl for the first 4 time since 1981; and

5 WHEREAS, Playing their first season in the newly christened McLane Stadium in Waco, Baylor began the year by soundly defeating 6 7 Southern Methodist University in the season opener; the Bears followed that performance with dominating victories over their next 8 9 four opponents, setting the stage for a much-anticipated matchup with the Texas Christian University Horned Frogs; in that contest, 10 Baylor fought back from a 21-point fourth quarter deficit to win 11 12 61-58 on a last-second field goal by kicker Chris Callahan; and

WHEREAS, The Bears rebounded from a midseason loss to West 13 14 Virginia with a five-game winning streak, closing out the regular season with a 38-27 victory over the No. 9-ranked Kansas State 15 team; that triumph secured a share of the Big 12 Conference 16 championship, and although Baylor was disappointed to not be one of 17 the four teams selected for the inaugural College Football Playoff, 18 they earned a berth to play in the Cotton Bowl for just the third 19 20 time in the program's long history; and

21 WHEREAS, Head coach Art Briles and his coaching staff helped 22 lead Baylor to an exemplary 11-2 overall record, which marked the 23 second consecutive season that the team compiled 10 wins or more; 24 moreover, the Bears finished the year ranked in the top 10 in each

1

1 of college football's major polls; the Bears' high-powered attack 2 led the nation in total offense with over 580 yards per game and in 3 total scoring with more than 48 points per game; and

H.R. No. 160

WHEREAS, In addition to the team's accomplishments, several Baylor players were selected to the 2014 All-Big 12 Team, including running back Shock Linwood, offensive lineman Spencer Drango, defensive linemen Andrew Billings and Shawn Oakman, quarterback Bryce Petty, wide receiver Corey Coleman, linebacker Bryce Hager, and punter Spencer Roth; and

10 WHEREAS, All season long, the Bears excelled by dedicating 11 themselves to a team-oriented approach to the game, and it is indeed 12 appropriate to honor all those who contributed to Baylor's success; 13 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Baylor University football team for its outstanding 2014-2015 season and extend sincere best wishes to the team's players, coaches, and staff for continued achievement; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

2