H.R. No. 174

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of McAllen lost an admired community
- 2 leader with the untimely passing of City Commissioner Scott Crane
- 3 on December 14, 2014, at the age of 50; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Crane was born in Houston on May 10, 1964, to
- 5 Robert and Baudelia Crane; he was a member of Sigma Chi fraternity
- 6 in college and graduated from Texas Christian University in 1987;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Known for his dedication to the city he was proud to
- 9 call home, Mr. Crane was first elected to the McAllen City
- 10 Commission in 2005; during his three terms as a commissioner, he
- 11 deftly balanced the needs of disparate groups and individuals,
- 12 rendering thoughtful and well-informed decisions on a number of
- 13 important issues; in addition, he volunteered for numerous
- 14 subcommittees, including those relating to such diverse topics as
- 15 the performing arts, the Tres Lagos development, and audits and
- 16 investments; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Hailing from one of the city's most respected and
- 18 civically engaged families, Mr. Crane was a small business owner as
- 19 well as a community leader; among the organizations and initiatives
- 20 to benefit from his interest were the McAllen Economic Development
- 21 Corporation, the local Boys & Girls Club, and the city's park and
- 22 trail system, which he frequently used; he was an avid
- 23 long-distance runner and competed in many marathons, including the
- 24 annual McAllen Marathon, which he helped launch in 2013; and

H.R. No. 174

1 WHEREAS, With a kind heart and an infectious smile, Mr. Crane

2 was a devoted family man who cherished his wife, Sasha, his

3 daughter, Taylor, and his son, Diego; and

4 WHEREAS, Scott Crane brought to his many endeavors a level of

5 enthusiasm and generosity of spirit that won him the affection and

6 esteem of countless fellow citizens, and his memory will forever be

treasured by all those who were privileged to know him; now,

8 therefore, be it

7

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

10 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Scott Crane and extend

11 sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Sasha

12 Crane; to his children, Taylor and Diego Crane; to his parents,

13 Robert and Baudelia Crane; to his siblings, Randy, Debbie, and

14 Audrie; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further

15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

16 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of

17 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Scott

18 Crane.

Guerra Canales Muñoz, Jr. Longoria

H.R. No. 174

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klićk Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 174
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 174 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on February 10, 2015.	

Chief Clerk of the House