H.R. No. 175

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas is celebrating
the 125th anniversary of its founding in 2015; and

3 WHEREAS, In response to the growing Catholic population in 4 Texas, Pope Leo XIII created the Diocese of Dallas in 1890; Thomas 5 Francis Brennan of Tipperary, Ireland, was appointed as the first 6 bishop over an area that encompassed most of North and West Texas; 7 and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the Diocese of Dallas has evolved 8 9 to accommodate the changing needs of its parishioners, with the establishment of such institutions as the Texas Catholic diocesan 10 newspaper, Holy Trinity College, and St. Paul Hospital; in 1902, 11 12 the Sacred Heart Cathedral was constructed when the congregation outgrew the simple wooden church that had previously served as the 13 14 seat of the diocese; as the local Catholic population continued to increase, the boundaries were redrawn several times to form the 15 16 Dioceses of El Paso, Amarillo, Austin, San Angelo, Fort Worth, and Tyler, and today, the Diocese of Dallas covers an area of 7,523 17 square miles, including Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, 18 Hunt, Kaufman, Navarro, and Rockwall Counties, and is one of the 19 20 fastest growing dioceses in the country; and

21 WHEREAS, Since 2007, the faithful of the diocese have 22 benefited from the wise and compassionate oversight of Bishop Kevin 23 Joseph Farrell, who is leading an effort not only to increase parish 24 support for families and children but also to advance work on

1

H.R. No. 175 1 restoration of the landmark Cathedral Shrine of the Virgin of 2 Guadalupe; and

3 WHEREAS, Countless Texans have looked to the Catholic Diocese 4 of Dallas for spiritual guidance over the last 125 years, and its 5 member parishes continue to be a positive and vital force in the 6 communities they serve; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 8 Legislature hereby commemorate the 125th anniversary of the 9 founding of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Dallas and extend to its 10 parishioners and clergy sincere best wishes for the future; and, be 11 it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for the diocese as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

> Rinaldi Sheets Anderson of Dallas Fallon Alonzo Anchia Burkett Button Collier Cook Davis of Dallas Crownover Flynn Giddings King of Parker Johnson Klick Коор Laubenberg Krause Leach Meyer Murphy Parker Phillips Rose Sanford Schofield Shaheen Simmons Spitzer Springer Stickland Turner of Collin Wray Villalba

> > 2

H.R. No. 175

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 175 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House