H.R. No. 177

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Pearland are gathering in Austin
on February 25, 2015, to celebrate Pearland Day at the State
Capitol; and
WHEREAS, Located in Brazoria County, Pearland was originally
established as Mark Belt in 1893, but in November of that year, its
name was changed to Pearland to reflect the large number of pear
trees in the area; by 1898, the town had a newspaper, 12 businesses,

9 of its fruit trees were destroyed when it was hit by the Galveston

and 75 residents; however, its growth slowed considerably, and many

10 hurricane in 1900; the planting of oranges and figs helped revive

11 local agriculture, until the freeze of 1918 caused another wave of

12 damage; Pearland bounced back a second time, though, and in 1934,

13 oil and gas were discovered in the area, prompting significant

14 growth in the decades that followed; and

WHEREAS, Today, while enjoying the benefits of its proximity
to Houston and such sites as the Johnson Space Center and Galveston
Beach, Pearland maintains its own unique character; in 1999, it was
named an All-America City by the National Civic League, and its
notable attractions include the more than 100-year-old Gulf,
Colorado and Santa Fe Railroad Depot and Pearland Town Center, a
mixed-use development of retail outlets, hotel accommodations, and

22 residential units; and

8

23 WHEREAS, With a colorful history, an abundance of natural 24 resources, and a small-town feel, Pearland is a desirable community

H.R. No. 177

- 1 in which to live, work, and raise a family, and its residents may
- 2 indeed take justifiable pride in the place they call home; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2015, as Pearland Day at
- 6 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 7 delegation that is present at the Capitol today.

Thompson of Brazoria
Allen
Paul
Reynolds
Kacal

H.R. No. 177

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat

Nevárez

Oliveira

Gonzales

González

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 177
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 177 was 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House