H.R. No. 183

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy and the 2 Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants are each celebrating 3 their 100th anniversary in 2015, and this provides a fitting 4 occasion to commemorate the first century of accounting as a 5 licensed profession in the state of Texas; and

6 WHEREAS, From the ancient world to the present day, the 7 public has relied upon the skill and integrity of professional 8 accountants in the conduct of personal, commercial, and public 9 activities; and

WHEREAS, In 1915, in order to protect the public and promote the prosperity of the Lone Star State, the Texas Legislature created the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy; it is the mission of this essential regulatory agency to oversee the examination and certification of the accountants of Texas, ensuring that they possess a high level of expertise; and

16 WHEREAS, That same year, the Texas Society of Certified 17 Public Accountants was also created, and today, the TSCPA boasts 20 18 chapters across the state, with a membership of more than 26,000; 19 these individuals play a crucial role in the success of entities 20 ranging from private businesses and government agencies to 21 nonprofit organizations and educational institutions; and

WHEREAS, The leading professional association for Texas CPAs, the TSCPA serves the public interest by advancing superior standards of professional ethics and practice and by advocating for

1

## H.R. No. 183

1 accountancy before state and federal regulators and the general 2 public; in addition, the society offers its members myriad 3 opportunities for networking, education, and community service; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, For the past century, the Texas State Board of 6 Public Accountancy and the Texas Society of Certified Public 7 Accountants have faithfully served the accounting profession in 8 Texas, and the outstanding contributions of each of these 9 institutions are a testament to the dedicated efforts of their 10 members, both past and present; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 12 Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Texas 13 State Board of Public Accountancy and the Texas Society of 14 Certified Public Accountants and extend to their officers and 15 members sincere best wishes for continued success with their 16 important work; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 18 for the TSBPA and the TSCPA as an expression of high regard by the 19 Texas House of Representatives.

> Otto Button Frullo Stephenson Sanford

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 183

H.R. No. 183

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 183 was adopted by the House on January 27, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House