H.R. No. 196

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than 125 years, the United Way system has 2 been raising funds to share with local relief agencies in a 3 cooperative effort to improve the well-being of community 4 residents, and the 2015 anniversary of the founding of this 5 organization provides a welcome opportunity to honor its 6 achievements; and

7 WHEREAS, Since 1887, United Way has partnered with businesses 8 around the country to increase public awareness and to assist with a 9 host of pressing community needs, including education, income, 10 health, 2-1-1 information and referral, and other topics; and

11 WHEREAS, United Way annually mobilizes thousands of 12 volunteers, and its offices have collectively reinvested hundreds 13 of millions of dollars in charitable donations back into the local 14 communities they serve; and

15 WHEREAS, Home to 88 United Way affiliates, the Lone Star 16 State has greatly benefited from the spirit of charity and 17 volunteerism demonstrated by those involved with the operation; and

18 WHEREAS, United Ways are helping to strengthen communities 19 across the state and the nation, and it is indeed a pleasure to join 20 in honoring the significant contributions the organization has made 21 to the greater good; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2015, as United Way Day at the State Capitol and express sincere appreciation to the United

1

H.R. No. 196 1 Way staff, volunteers, donors, and supporters for their important 2 work; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for the United Ways of Texas as an expression of high 5 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 196

H.R. No. 196

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 196 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House