H.R. No. 199

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, School board members play an integral role in the 2 education of our children, and the observance of School Board 3 Recognition Month in January 2015 provides a welcome opportunity to 4 honor the trustees of the Mission Consolidated Independent School 5 District; and

6 WHEREAS, Located in Hidalgo County, Mission CISD encompasses 7 23 schools and serves a student population of over 15,000; the seven 8 school board members who oversee this district work closely with 9 superintendent Ricardo López, as well as with parents, teachers, 10 and community leaders to ensure an optimal learning environment for 11 all students; and

WHEREAS, The board is ably led by president Patricia O'Cana-Olivarez, vice president Patty Bazaldua, and secretary J. C. Avila; other members include Petra Ramirez, Minnie Rodgers, Roy Vela, and Veronica Mendoza; and

16 WHEREAS, Each of these notable Texans demonstrates an 17 exemplary commitment to area students, and through their vision and 18 leadership, they are contributing immeasurably to the future of the 19 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 21 Legislature hereby honor the members of the Mission Consolidated 22 Independent School District Board of Trustees on the occasion of 23 School Board Recognition Month and extend to them sincere 24 appreciation for their outstanding service to the community; and,

1

H.R. No. 199

1 be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the Mission CISD Board of Trustees as an expression of 4 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Muñoz, Jr. Guerra

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 199

H.R. No. 199

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 199 was adopted by the House on January 27, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House