H.R. No. 210

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Thorndale are
 commemorating a significant milestone in 2015 as they celebrate the
 125th anniversary of their church's founding; and

WHEREAS, In the early 1880s, August Polnick and his family became the first Germans and Lutherans to settle in Thorndale; as other families came to the area, they began to gather on Sundays to worship in alternating homes in the community; eventually, Karl Michalk donated 10 acres for a church and school, and on December 21, 1890, Mr. Michalk and seven others signed a charter to create St. Paul Lutheran Church; and

WHEREAS, The church grew rapidly, and in 1899, members 11 12 decided to build a new 40-by-60-foot building with an altar extension, nearly doubling the size of the original structure; the 13 14 new church and school building was dedicated on July 8, 1900, and offered morning and evening services in German, as well as an 15 afternoon service in English; both church and school have continued 16 to grow and participate in the development of the Thorndale area; 17 18 and

WHEREAS, For 125 years, the St. Paul Lutheran Church has served countless residents who seek a full and meaningful spiritual life, and the school has effectively helped many children begin their educational journey; on this special occasion in the institution's rich history, it is a privilege to recognize the ongoing commitment of the congregation to its faith and to the wider

1

H.R. No. 210

1 community; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 125th anniversary of the 4 founding of St. Paul Lutheran Church of Thorndale and extend to all 5 those associated with the church sincere best wishes for the 6 future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Farney

H.R. No. 210

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 210 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House