H.R. No. 224

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Betty Rice of De Leon retired from Farmers and 2 Merchants Bank on December 31, 2014, concluding an outstanding 3 career with that institution that spanned nearly six decades; and

WHEREAS, The former Betty McCrary graduated from De Leon High School in 1956; during her junior year, she served as school librarian and was active in the library club, activities that developed the flair for organization and attention to detail that would serve her well throughout her career; shortly after graduation, she began working at Farmers and Merchants Bank as a bookkeeper; and

11 WHEREAS, Throughout her time with the bank, Mrs. Rice saw 12 many changes to technology and procedures; her responsibilities grew as paper registers were replaced by computers, and increasing 13 14 regulations afforded her the chance to shine as a quick learner in a complex industry; her skill and adaptability led to many promotions 15 16 over the years, including time as president and chief operating officer; during her last year at the bank, she worked primarily as a 17 18 consultant; and

WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Mrs. Rice enjoys the love and support of her sons, Stephen and Michael, from her marriage of 45 years to Robert Rice, who passed away in 2003; and

22 WHEREAS, Betty Rice's hard work and commitment to excellence 23 have greatly benefited her coworkers and clients at Farmers and 24 Merchants Bank, and she may reflect with pride on her many

1

1 achievements as she embarks on her well-deserved retirement; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Betty Rice on her retirement from 5 Farmers and Merchants Bank and extend to her sincere best wishes for 6 the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mrs. Rice as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Sheffield

H.R. No. 224

H.R. No. 224

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 224 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House