H.R. No. 225

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Retired educator and choir director Evelyn Foster
- 2 Hamilton of Dallas is being honored by the Omicron Mu Omega chapter
- 3 of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., on January 31, 2015, for a half
- 4 century of dedicated service; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native of Tyler, Ms. Hamilton graduated from
- 6 Emmett Scott High School and received her bachelor's degree in
- 7 music at Wiley College; she later earned a master's degree in music
- 8 education at Louisiana Tech University and a mid-management
- 9 certification from Texas Woman's University, where she also studied
- 10 counseling; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the course of her exemplary career in
- 12 education, Ms. Hamilton served as director of a number of
- 13 award-winning choirs, including the Maurine F. Bailey Concert Choir
- 14 at Lincoln High School, which she took to the International Youth
- 15 and Music Festival in Vienna, Austria, in 1983; she served the
- 16 Dallas Independent School District as vocal music specialist for
- 17 all grades, and she retired as assistant principal of Seagoville
- 18 Elementary School; in addition, she is a former president of a
- 19 chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International for women
- 20 educators, and she has been a chapter president and regional music
- 21 chair for Phi Delta Kappa, Inc.; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Hamilton's lifelong association with Alpha
- 23 Kappa Alpha began in grade school, and she was officially inducted
- 24 into the sorority at Wiley College; she later joined chapters in

H.R. No. 225

- 1 Shreveport, Longview, and Dallas, where she helped to found the
- 2 Omicron Mu Omega chapter; she served the group as its first
- 3 president, and she has written several musical compositions for the
- 4 chapter as well as for the sorority's International Membership
- 5 Committee; today, she is chair of the South Central Region Time and
- 6 Place Committee and a member-at-large advisor for the Omicron Mu
- 7 Omega chapter; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Throughout her endeavors, Ms. Hamilton has enjoyed
- 9 the love and support of her husband, Leon Hamilton, and her son,
- 10 Leon Edric Hamilton Jr.; she is a member of St. Luke Community
- 11 United Methodist Church; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Evelyn Hamilton has demonstrated a lasting
- 13 commitment to Alpha Kappa Alpha, and she may take great pride in
- 14 this well-deserved recognition from her fellow members; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Evelyn Foster Hamilton for being
- 18 honored by the Omicron Mu Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha
- 19 Sorority, Inc., and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 20 happiness; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Ms. Hamilton as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 225

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 225 was	adopted by the House on January
15, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 225

28, 2015, by a non-record vote.