By: Muñoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 226

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, School board members play an integral role in the 2 education of our children, and the observance of School Board 3 Recognition Month in January 2015 provides a welcome opportunity to 4 honor the trustees of the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School 5 District; and

6 WHEREAS, Located in Hidalgo County, PSJA ISD encompasses 43 7 schools and serves a student population of nearly 32,000; the seven 8 school board members who oversee this district work closely with 9 Dr. Daniel P. King, superintendent, as well as with parents, 10 teachers, and community leaders to ensure an optimal learning 11 environment for all students; and

WHEREAS, The board is ably led by president Jesus Vela Jr., vice president Guadalupe Rodriguez, secretary-treasurer Humberto Rodriguez, and assistant secretary-treasurer Ben Garza Jr.; other members include Ronaldo Cantu, Reymundo Gonzalez, and Victor Perez; and

WHEREAS, Each of these notable Texans demonstrates an exemplary commitment to area students, and through their vision and leadership, they are contributing immeasurably to the future of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby honor the members of the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District Board of Trustees on the occasion of School Board Recognition Month and extend to them sincere

1

appreciation for their outstanding service to the community; and,
be it further

H.R. No. 226

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the PSJA ISD Board of Trustees as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.