H.R. No. 227

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 18 and 19, 2015, members of the 2 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Nacogdoches, 3 and Stephen F. Austin State University and its Student Government and Alumni Associations are visiting Austin 4 to celebrate 5 Nacogdoches-SFA Days at the State Capitol; and

6 WHEREAS, Nacogdoches is the site of a Caddo Native American 7 settlement and a Spanish mission established in 1716; founded by 8 Antonio Gil Y'Barbo, it received designation from Spain as a pueblo 9 in 1779, and today it proudly calls itself the first town in Texas, 10 and it has also been designated the official Garden Capital of 11 Texas; and

WHEREAS, The city became an important gateway for trade with the French and later the Americans, and claims among its lengthy list of Texas milestones being home to the first English-language newspaper, oil well, and two-story building, as well as the state's inaugural district court session; the nine flags flown over the city include those of three short-lived early republics; and

WHEREAS, Today, the vintage charm of Nacogdoches brings myriad tourists, who explore such attractions as the Old Stone Fort, the Victorian homes along Mound Street, the 19th-century buildings of Millard's Crossing, and the quaint antique shops and restaurants along brick downtown streets; many also come to enjoy recreational activities at Lake Nacogdoches, Lake Naconiche, and Sam Rayburn Reservoir, all known for their bass fishing; in

1

1 addition to tourism, the primary industries of the area include 2 agricultural services, manufacturing, and oil and gas; and

H.R. No. 227

3 WHEREAS, Education has been an important part of the area's economy since Stephen F. Austin State University opened its doors 4 5 to 158 students on September 18, 1923; its alumni association was organized just five years later and has worked diligently through 6 7 the years to support the school, which now has an enrollment of approximately 13,000 students; SFA boasts an exceptionally scenic 8 campus recognized for the SFA Gardens and also operates a beef and 9 10 poultry farm, a dairy farm, an experimental forest, a forestry field station, and the Waters of East Texas Center; its observatory 11 is the second largest not only in Texas but also in the Central Time 12 Zone; and 13

WHEREAS, Beautifully situated in the Texas Forest Country, Nacogdoches is attracting active retired Texans; it was one of the first three communities in Texas recognized as a Go Texan certified retirement community because of its cultural and sporting events, health care, safety, and continuing education opportunities; and

WHEREAS, The combination of numerous amenities and a neighborly atmosphere makes Nacogdoches a splendid place to live, work, and study, and it is a pleasure to welcome those representing the many facets of this vibrant part of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

2

H.R. No. 227

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 18 and 19, 2015, as 3 Nacogdoches-SFA Days at the State Capitol and extend to the 4 visiting delegation best wishes for an enjoyable stay in Austin.

Clardy

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 227

H.R. No. 227

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 227 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House