H.R. No. 248

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chicano History Week commences on February 2, 2015,
 the 167th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe
 Hidalgo; and

WHEREAS, A crucial document in the annals of both the United States and Mexico, the 1848 treaty ended two years of war between the nations; Mexico recognized the annexation of Texas by the United States, accepted the Rio Grande as the state's southern border, and gave up about half of its territory, including modern-day California, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, and parts of Colorado, Nevada, and Utah; and

11 WHEREAS, Approximately 80,000 Mexicans lived in the ceded 12 area at the time, and the vast majority chose to become United 13 States citizens; although the treaty granted protection of their 14 property and civil rights, decades of land seizures ensued, and by 15 the end of the 19th century, most Mexicans in the region had lost 16 their land; and

WHEREAS, The Chicano movement that arose in the 1960s and 18 1970s focused attention on failed promises of the treaty; Hispanic 19 civil rights leaders raised awareness of the document's importance 20 in their struggle to promote social justice for Mexican Americans, 21 and, in working to gain representation and recognition, they also 22 developed an enduring consciousness of a long and rich heritage 23 that continues to inspire us today; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

1

H.R. No. 248
1 Legislature hereby recognize February 2-8, 2015, as Chicano History
2 Week and encourage all Texans to learn more about the enormous
3 contributions made by Chicanos to the vibrant culture of the Lone
4 Star State.

Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 248

H.R. No. 248

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 248 was adopted by the House on February 3, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House