H.R. No. 253

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Community Impact Newspaper has distinguished itself
as an important new voice in Texas media; and

3 WHEREAS, Launched in 2005 by John and Jennifer Garrett, Community Impact Newspaper initially covered Round Rock and 4 5 Pflugerville; it now publishes 18 highly localized monthly editions in the Austin, Houston, and Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan areas, 6 reaching more than 1.3 million households; according to INC. 7 magazine, it ranks as the state's fastest-growing 8 news 9 organization; and

WHEREAS, Community Impact Newspaper remains independently 10 11 owned and locally operated, with a staff that has grown to include more than 130 employees; between 2007 and 2014, the company 12 received over 70 awards for outstanding journalism and advertising 13 14 design from the National Newspaper Association, and it was named the 2014 Best Small Business of the Year by the Frisco Chamber of 15 Commerce; Mr. Garrett received the 2014 KPMG Executive Leadership 16 Award from the Austin Chamber of Commerce, and in 2013, Austin 17 Business Journal selected him as Best CEO in the Small Business 18 category; the proprietors and the company were accorded the Silver 19 20 Spur Media Award 2010; and

21 WHEREAS, Local newspapers are a vital and valued part of 22 their readers' lives, and through its dedication to quality 23 journalism, *Community Impact Newspaper* is serving as an important 24 resource for citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 11, 2015, as *Community Impact* 3 *Newspaper* Day at the State Capitol and extend to the company's 4 owners and staff sincere best wishes for continued success.

Harless	Gonzales
Farney	Israel
Davis of Harris	Bohac
Capriglione	Dale
Fletcher	Laubenberg
Paul	Riddle
Shaheen	

H.R. No. 253

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 253

H.R. No. 253

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 253 was adopted by the House on February 11, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House