H.R. No. 306

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, William Burgess Crooker of Big Spring, a World War

II veteran and a longtime public servant, is deserving of the

highest commendation for his exceptional efforts in behalf of his

4 country and his fellow Texans; and

5 WHEREAS, During the Second World War, Mr. Crooker served as a

6 bombardier with the U.S. Army Air Corps in the European theater; the

7 last mission he flew took place on December 6, 1944, when he

8 participated in a bombing raid on Nazi facilities at Devinska,

9 Czechoslovakia; about 15 minutes after the crew completed its

10 mission, their plane took heavy fire, and Mr. Crooker was among

11 those who escaped by parachute, only to be seized by the enemy on

12 the ground; and

2

3

WHEREAS, Mr. Crooker was interrogated and held in solitary

14 confinement before being transferred to Stalag One, a prison camp

15 in northern Germany; the American and British airmen held there

16 were given little to eat, and they endured severe hardships before

17 the camp was liberated by Russian forces on May 1, 1945; and

18 WHEREAS, Following his return to the States, Bill Crooker

19 exchanged wedding vows with the former Joyce Glenn on August 8,

20 1945; the couple lived for a time on the East Coast, while

21 Mr. Crooker completed his bachelor's degree in economics at the

22 University of Pennsylvania Wharton School of Business and then

23 worked for General Electric and Ortho Pharmaceutical in

24 Philadelphia; after returning to Big Spring, Mrs. Crooker's

H.R. No. 306

- 1 hometown, Mr. Crooker was employed with Cosden for 13 years before
- 2 he left to establish an employment agency and a real estate company;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, This dynamic Texan was elected as Howard County
- 5 commissioner for Precinct 3 in 1968, and he continued to serve
- 6 faithfully in that role for four decades; in addition, he has given
- 7 generously of his time and talents in numerous other positions of
- 8 civic leadership; and
- 9 WHEREAS, An exemplary member of the Greatest Generation, Bill
- 10 Crooker helped to defend liberty at a time of enormous peril, and
- 11 his contributions to his community, his state, and his nation are a
- 12 source of inspiration to all who know him; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby honor William Burgess Crooker for his
- 15 distinguished record of service, both in war and in times of peace,
- 16 and commend him for his outstanding courage and dedication; and, be
- 17 it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Mr. Crooker as an expression of high regard by the
- 20 Texas House of Representatives.

Darby

H.R. No. 306

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr.	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler
Flynn Frank Frullo	Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	Vo Walle White of Bell

	H.R. No. 306
	Speaker of the House
-	adopted by the House on February
10, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House