H.R. No. 323

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Keith Brown of the Bay City Independent School
District in Matagorda County was named the 2013 Superintendent of
the Year by the Texas Association of School Boards; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Brown has served as superintendent of the Bay 4 5 City ISD since 2008; under his leadership, the district has closed its achievement gap by realigning its curriculum and reorganizing 6 7 its campuses; in addition, Mr. Brown has fostered strong ties between the district and the community at large, emphasizing the 8 skills students will need in order to work for local businesses and 9 industries and helping to organize a boys and girls club; as a 10 11 result of his efforts, the district's rating from the Texas 12 Education Agency rose from academically acceptable in 2007-2008 to recognized in 2009-2010; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Keith Brown earned his bachelor's degree in physical education from Mid-America Nazarene College and his master's degree 15 in educational administration from Texas A&M University--Commerce; 16 he began his career as an educator in 1991, as an assistant football 17 18 and track coach in Overland Park, Kansas, and the following year, he joined the Rivercrest Independent School District in Northeast 19 20 Texas, where he held the posts of coach, athletic director, and high 21 school principal; he served as superintendent of the Thrall Independent School District from 2004 to 2008; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Among the accolades bestowed on this esteemed 24 educator have been the Bay City and Matagorda County Boys and Girls

1

1 Club Helping Hand Award and designation as Softball Coach of the 2 Year, as Red River Valley Football Coach of the Year, and as 3 Distinguished Title I High School Principal; his professional 4 affiliations have included the Texas Association of School 5 Administrators, the Texas High School Coaches Association, the 6 Association of Texas Professional Educators, and the Texas 7 Association of Secondary School Principals; and

8 WHEREAS, The students of Bay City have gained immeasurably 9 from Keith Brown's broad experience and incisive leadership, and he 10 is indeed deserving of this prestigious recognition; now, 11 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Keith Brown on his selection as the 2013 Superintendent of the Year and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success with his important work; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Mr. Brown as an expression of high regard by the Texas 19 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 323

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 323

H.R. No. 323

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 323 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House