H.R. No. 329

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Shelby Schilling and Keylee Mayfield of Panhandle 2 High School received top honors for the second consecutive year in 3 the Friends of the Governor's Mansion 2013-2014 It's Your History 4 Contest; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in 1979, the Friends of the Governor's 6 Mansion is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation 7 of this iconic site; the group also educates the public about the 8 history of the building, and it sponsors an annual competition to 9 encourage students to develop greater awareness of their Texas 10 heritage while enhancing their computer skills; and

11 WHEREAS, Contest participants select and study topics in 12 their own communities and create dynamic presentations to inform 13 their fellow students, and Ms. Schilling and Ms. Mayfield won in 14 the Best Research category for their project on the State National 15 Bank of Groom; these notable Texans previously won the award in the 16 Best Overall category in the 2012-2013 contest for their work 17 exploring the history of a building in Panhandle; and

WHEREAS, With the guidance of their technology teacher, Mika Sloan, Shelby Schilling and Keylee Mayfield have helped others learn more about the fascinating history of this state, and it is indeed a pleasure to recognize them for their contributions to their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Shelby Schilling and Keylee

1

Mayfield on winning their second consecutive award in the Friends of the Governor's Mansion It's Your History Contest and commend the students and their teacher, Mika Sloan, for their achievements; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Schilling, Ms. Mayfield, and Ms. Sloan as an 7 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Price

H.R. No. 329

H.R. No. 329

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 329 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House