H.R. No. 334

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Academic Language Therapy
- 2 Association and its Texas chapter are gathering at the State
- 3 Capitol on February 4, 2015, to commemorate Dyslexia Awareness Day;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, A national organization headquartered in Dallas,
- 6 ALTA was founded in 1986 to promote high standards of education,
- 7 practice, and professionalism in the delivery of services to
- 8 students with dyslexia and related disorders; the group's
- 9 membership includes licensed dyslexia therapists and
- 10 practitioners, along with parents and educators; and
- 11 WHEREAS, One in five students has a language-based
- 12 disability, and dyslexia is the most common of these disabilities;
- 13 across Texas, public school district identification of students
- 14 with dyslexia varies widely, from almost 17 percent in some schools
- 15 to about 0.2 percent in others, according to 2014 Public Education
- 16 Information Management System data; a 2000 study by The University
- 17 of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston--Texas Department of Criminal
- 18 Justice Hospital found dyslexia among 48 percent of the state's
- 19 prison population; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Dyslexia and related disorders are far from
- 21 uncommon, but although their impact can be extensive, professional
- 22 help and support can ensure that they provide no barrier to
- 23 achievement; through the dedicated efforts of its members, the
- 24 Academic Language Therapy Association is making a lasting, positive

H.R. No. 334

- 1 difference in the lives of countless young people, and it is indeed
- 2 appropriate to recognize this noteworthy organization at this time;
- 3 now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 4, 2015, as Dyslexia
- 6 Awareness Day and honor the Academic Language Therapy Association
- 7 and Texas ALTA on this occasion.

Huberty

H.R. No. 334

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 334 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House