By: Longoria

H.R. No. 337

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The city of La Feria of Cameron County is
 celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2015; and

3 WHEREAS, Formally established on May 1, 1915, the site of La Feria was settled in the late 1700s when Spain assigned the property 4 5 as part of a land grant to Rosa Hinojosa de Ballí, who became known as La Patrona and the first "cattle queen" of Texas; the community 6 7 grew into a ranching center, and in 1909, G. J. Schoenberg began developing the town; in 1911, the St. Louis, Brownsville, and 8 9 Mexico Railway arrived, and by the time La Feria was incorporated four years later, it boasted a population of 200 and had a bank, two 10 churches, and a weekly newspaper; the first mayor was Bailey H. 11 12 Dunlap, and the first two city commissioners were H. B. Noblett and W. A. Strickland; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Over the next century, the city continued to grow and prosper; by 1960, La Feria had added three elementary schools, a 15 16 junior high, and a high school and had a population of 3,000; fruit and vegetable canneries as well as manufacturers of liquid 17 fertilizer, cotton trailers, and carnival equipment were among the 18 90 businesses reported in 1967, and the community center park and 19 the La Feria Museum were opened; by 2010, the city had more than 20 7,300 residents; and 21

22 WHEREAS, Remembering their rich and colorful history while 23 they work together to build a bright future, the citizens of La 24 Feria may take justifiable pride in their city's contributions to

1

1 the Lone Star State, and it is most fitting to honor them as they 2 celebrate its 100th anniversary; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 337

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the centennial of the city of La 5 Feria and extend sincere best wishes to its residents for a 6 meaningful and enjoyable observance; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the city as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

2