H.R. No. 354

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas State Aquarium in Corpus Christi is an 2 outstanding institution that is committed to connecting people with 3 nature and promoting conservation of the Gulf of Mexico; and

WHEREAS, After two decades of planning and fund-raising, TSA 4 5 first opened the doors to its original Gulf of Mexico exhibit in 1990; over the years, many new permanent and special exhibits have 6 7 been introduced, allowing spectators to see a live bald eagle, to touch and feed stingrays, to watch Atlantic bottlenose dolphins 8 play, and to get an underwater view of the habitat formed around an 9 oil platform in the Gulf; the aquarium also features a splash park, 10 11 an artificial fossil dig site for uncovering casts of prehistoric 12 animal bones, and the Hawn Wild Flight Theater, with presentations featuring trained birds, and in 2014, it announced an expansion 13 14 project that will more than double the size of the facilities; and

WHEREAS, In addition to entertaining and delighting 15 16 visitors, this private, not-for-profit institution gives back to the community through its education and conservation programs; 17 field trips, summer camps, and distance learning empower Texans of 18 all ages to discover more about nature and marine wildlife, while 19 20 the Second Chances Wildlife Rehabilitation Program provides care 21 for ill or injured shorebirds, birds of prey, marine mammals, and sea turtles, returning them to their natural habitats whenever 22 23 possible; furthermore, the aquarium coordinates beach cleanups three times a year, fosters awareness of Texas watersheds with its 24

1

Keepers of the Coast program, and awards grants through its
Wildlife Care, Conservation, and Research Fund; and

3 WHEREAS, TSA has been honored with numerous accolades, including the Outstanding Public-Private Partnership Award from 4 5 Mutual of America, the Munson Aquatic Conservation Exhibitry Award from the American Zoo and Aquarium Association, 6 and the Conservation and Environmental Stewardship Award for Public 7 8 Awareness from the Coastal Bend Bays Foundation; in 2014, it became one of only six aquariums in the nation to earn a prestigious 9 10 four-star rating from Charity Navigator; and

11 WHEREAS, By encouraging Texans to appreciate the diversity 12 and vulnerability of marine life, the aquarium is making a 13 significant contribution to the Lone Star State, and the efforts 14 and achievements of all involved in this worthy endeavor indeed 15 merit special commendation; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize February 10, 2015, as Texas State 18 Aquarium Day and extend to all those associated with the aquarium 19 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the Texas State Aquarium as an expression of high 22 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Herrero Hunter Lozano

H.R. No. 354

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 354

H.R. No. 354

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 354 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House