H.R. No. 357

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Beach to Bay Relay Marathon is celebrating its
- 2 40th anniversary on May 16, 2015, with its annual South Texas
- 3 footrace; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1976 by Captain John Butterfield, Beach
- 5 to Bay has grown to be one of the largest relay marathons in the
- 6 country, drawing more than 16,000 participants as well as another
- 7 16,000 spectators; the event gives the local economy a significant
- 8 boost and raises around \$30,000 for a variety of worthwhile causes,
- 9 including the Texas Special Olympics and the Texas A&M
- 10 University-Corpus Christi cross-country team; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The 26.2-mile course is divided into six legs of
- 12 about 4.4 miles each; the race starts on North Padre Island, passes
- 13 through the Naval Air Station, and ends at McCaughan Park in Corpus
- 14 Christi, where a postrace celebration ensues; and
- WHEREAS, The Beach to Bay Relay Marathon is always held on
- 16 Armed Forces Day, the third Saturday in May, to pay tribute to the
- 17 men and women serving in the U.S. military; moreover, the marathon
- 18 now offers the Run for a Hero program, which allows teams to race in
- 19 honor of a past or present member of the armed forces; and
- WHEREAS, For four decades, the Beach to Bay Relay Marathon
- 21 has remained an important South Texas tradition, providing local
- 22 and visiting runners with healthy athletic competition and an
- 23 opportunity to give back to the community; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas

H.R. No. 357

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 40th annual Beach to Bay Relay
- 2 Marathon and extend to all those associated with the race sincere
- 3 best wishes for a successful and memorable event; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the race organizers as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 357

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 357 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House