H.R. No. 359

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Continuing a notable tradition of success on the
- 2 gridiron, the Crowell High School football team captured the 2014
- 3 University Interscholastic League Six-Man 1A Division 1 state
- 4 championship on December 13, 2014, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Wildcats claimed their second consecutive state
- 7 championship with a dominating 62-16 triumph over May High School,
- 8 in a rematch of the 2013 title game; Crowell's explosive offense
- 9 proved too much for its opponent to handle, as the team tallied 56
- 10 first-half points and closed the game out with a third-quarter
- 11 score that invoked the 45-point "mercy rule"; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Pacing the Wildcats offense was quarterback
- 13 Mitchell Parsley, who racked up 224 total yards and accounted for
- 14 seven touchdowns on his way to earning the Offensive Most Valuable
- 15 Player award; the Crowell defense was led by linebacker Steven
- 16 Perez, who was named the game's defensive MVP for his exceptional
- 17 efforts; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Following in the tradition of previous Crowell
- 19 teams, the Wildcats excelled as a result of the determination
- 20 demonstrated by each member of the roster: in addition to
- 21 Mr. Parsley and Mr. Perez, the team includes Nathan Moya, Taylor
- 22 Burkett, Evan De Los Santos, Joey Taylor, Tyler Durham, Kevin
- 23 Strickland, Bucky Robinson, Nathan Richardson, Will Hogan, Rylie
- 24 Kajs, Javier Aguilera, Danny De La Pena, Tristen Hayes, Nick

H.R. No. 359

- 1 Gonzales, Jared Brown, Scotty Barberee, and Trevor Johnson; and
- WHEREAS, The 2014 Crowell squad thrived under the leadership
- 3 of head coach Nathan Hayes, as they compiled the school's first
- 4 undefeated record, with 14 wins and no losses; moreover, the
- 5 Wildcats received additional guidance from defensive coordinator
- 6 Reece Walker and assistant coaches Anthony Barrera and Scott
- 7 Bearden; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Winning consecutive state championships is a rare
- 9 feat that requires countless hours of hard work and an unwavering
- 10 commitment to excellence, and the members of the Crowell High
- 11 School football team may take justifiable pride in their remarkable
- 12 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby congratulate the Crowell High School football
- 15 team on winning the 2014 UIL Six-Man 1A Division 1 state
- 16 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 17 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 20 House of Representatives.

Frank

H.R. No. 359

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 359 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House