H.R. No. 383

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Bringing an unforgettable season to a triumphant
 close, the Carthage High School football team captured the 2013
 University Interscholastic League 3A Division 1 state championship
 on December 20, 2013, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, Matching up against Kilgore High School in the title game, the Bulldogs opened up an 18-point advantage in the third 6 quarter before a furious comeback from their opponent cut the 7 deficit to five with just over three minutes remaining in the game; 8 9 the Carthage players remained cool under pressure, however, and secured the title by recovering Kilgore's subsequent onside kick 10 11 attempt and then driving for a final touchdown by running back Tevin 12 Pipkin to close out the 34-23 victory; and

13 WHEREAS, The offensive Most Valuable Player award went to the 14 Bulldogs' senior quarterback Blake Bogenschutz, who passed for 185 yards and two touchdowns; senior lineman Mario McCain took home 15 defensive MVP honors after contributing several key plays, 16 including a fumble recovery and a crucial tackle for a loss that 17 ended a scoring threat for Kilgore in the first half; the win in the 18 championship contest capped a year in which the team compiled an 19 overall record of 15 wins and 1 loss, went undefeated in district 20 21 play, and dominated several postseason opponents; and

22 WHEREAS, This marked the fourth state football title for 23 Carthage High in the past six years, with the school last claiming 24 the crown in 2010; each of these championships came under the able

1

H.R. No. 383

1 leadership of head coach Scott Surratt, whose focus on motivation
2 and preparation has enabled his players to realize their full
3 athletic potential; and

WHEREAS, With their remarkable performance during 2013, the Carthage Bulldogs have furthered their school's tradition of gridiron excellence, and they will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 9 Legislature hereby congratulate the Carthage High School football 10 team on winning the 2013 UIL 3A Division 1 state championship and 11 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 12 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 15 House of Representatives.

Paddie

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 383

H.R. No. 383

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 383 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House