H.R. No. 389

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Lufkin and Angelina County are
 gathering in Austin on February 11, 2015, to celebrate Lufkin and
 Angelina County Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Set among the pine and hardwood forests of East Texas, this verdant area was first inhabited by the Caddo and Atakapan people; the county is said to be named after a Hainai Indian girl who aided Spanish missionaries in the early 1690s; and

8 WHEREAS, In 1801, a settler named Vincente Micheli purchased 9 five and a half leagues of land in the area from the chief of the 10 Bedias tribe; Anglo-American settlers began to arrive in 1820, and 11 the Mexican government issued land grants in the region in the 12 mid-1830s; after Texas independence, Angelina County was 13 established from part of Nacogdoches County in 1846, and Lufkin was 14 made county seat in 1892; and

WHEREAS, Following the arrival of the first railroad in 1882, lumber became the foundation of Angelina County's economy; by the turn of the 20th century, the nation's need for southern pine supported more than 15 lumber companies in the county; today, lumber, paper, and the manufacturing of oil-field equipment continue to be mainstays of the county's prosperity; and

21 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the region's fine 22 recreational opportunities; the Angelina National Forest is a 23 favorite for hikers and campers, while the Sam Rayburn Reservoir is 24 known for its boating, fishing, and waterskiing; the county's

1

1 forestlands are also a prime habitat for many species of birds,
2 drawing bird-watchers from around the state and nation; and

WHEREAS, As the largest town and the seat of government, 3 Lufkin serves as the center of operations for many of the businesses 4 5 in the county, particularly those relating to lumber and wood products; that industry's development is chronicled at the Texas 6 Forestry Museum, and the city includes several other notable 7 8 attractions, including the Museum of East Texas, the Ellen Trout Zoo and Park, and the Medford Collection of Western Art, which 9 10 exhibits the work of notable contemporary artists; in addition, Lufkin is home to the main campus of Angelina College; and 11

WHEREAS, Its scenic beauty and the industriousness and creativity of its people combine to make Angelina County a vital and dynamic part of the Lone Star State, and this special event provides a fitting opportunity to honor the county's contribution to the heritage of Texas; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 11, 2015, as Lufkin and 19 Angelina County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting 20 delegation best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in 21 Austin.

Ashby

H.R. No. 389

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 389

H.R. No. 389

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 389 was adopted by the House on February 11, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House