H.R. No. 392

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Palmview are gathering in Austin
- 2 on February 9, 2015, to celebrate Palmview Day at the State Capitol;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, Located in southern Hidalgo County, in the Rio
- 5 Grande Valley, Palmview can trace its heritage to the town of Mamie,
- 6 which was established in 1904 as a stop along the St. Louis,
- 7 Brownsville and Mexico Railway; in 1972, a group of local residents
- 8 led a drive to create an autonomous community, and their efforts
- 9 resulted in the establishment of the City of Palmview; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In the years since, Palmview has experienced
- 11 significant growth; it is now home to about 6,000 residents, a
- 12 number that is expected to increase dramatically in the coming
- 13 years; located at the crossroads of U.S. Highway 83 and Farm Road
- 14 2061, the town is situated between the busy retail areas of central
- 15 Hidalgo County and the slower-paced, yet growing Starr County to
- 16 the west; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Palmview's expansion has created a range of new
- 18 business opportunities, and the city chamber of commerce is working
- 19 with existing and prospective entrepreneurs to spur further
- 20 economic activity; moreover, officials are devoted to enhancing
- 21 services to benefit the town's growing population and, to that end,
- 22 have cooperated with agencies such as the Texas Water Development
- 23 Board and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development to
- 24 pursue new infrastructure projects; and

H.R. No. 392

- 1 WHEREAS, Like other border cities, Palmview faces a unique
- 2 set of challenges, and it has gained widespread attention for its
- 3 role in helping to maintain national security; and
- WHEREAS, The city's progress is driven by its committed,
- 5 community-focused residents, who embody the town's slogan of
- 6 "Palmview Proud"; their involvement plays an essential role in
- 7 numerous initiatives, including the Parks and Recreation
- 8 Department sports programs, which have registered more than 90
- 9 teams, a rate of participation that exceeds that of much larger
- 10 municipalities; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Home to an engaged citizenry and city government,
- 12 Palmview is building on its heritage of hard work and independence
- 13 to prepare for a dynamic and prosperous future; now, therefore, be
- 14 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby recognize February 9, 2015, as Palmview Day at
- 17 the State Capitol and extend to the city's delegation sincere best
- 18 wishes for an enjoyable and productive visit to Austin.

Muñoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 392

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat

Nevárez

Oliveira

Gonzales

González

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 392
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 392 was	s adopted by the House on February
9, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House