H.R. No. 393

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than 25 years, the Greater Houston 2 Partnership and its regional allies have done outstanding work in 3 behalf of the city's business community; and

WHEREAS, Serving the counties of Austin, Brazoria, Chambers,
Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, San Jacinto,
Walker, and Waller, Greater Houston Partnership members represent
more than 1,400 companies and organizations, approximately
one-fifth of the region's workforce; and

WHEREAS, Thanks in part to the GHP's efforts, Houston has 9 been recognized as the best city for manufacturing jobs by Forbes 10 11 magazine, the foremost U.S. city for number of industrial jobs by Manufacturers' News, the top destination city in each of five 12 consecutive years by U-Haul International, and the best city for 13 14 entrepreneurs and best city for young couples young by CreditDonkey; moreover, the Houston metropolitan area was ranked 15 16 first in the nation for the total value of exported goods in 2013 by the U.S. Department of Commerce; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Under the exemplary leadership of the partnership's 19 president and CEO, Bob Harvey, and its chair, Gina Luna, the Greater 20 Houston Partnership serves as a meeting place for community-minded 21 business people who want to be involved in the metro area's positive 22 growth; and

23 WHEREAS, By addressing the region's unique challenges and 24 opportunities and championing prosperity for all, the GHP is

1

1 working to make Greater Houston one of the world's best places to 2 live, work, and build a business; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 11, 2015, as Greater Houston Day at the State Capitol and commend the Greater Houston Partnership and its regional allies on their outstanding contributions to the community; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the Greater Houston Partnership as an expression of 10 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Turner of Harris

H.R. No. 393

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 393

H.R. No. 393

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 393 was adopted by the House on February 11, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House