H.R. No. 400

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of Ebenezer Baptist Church in Austin are
- 2 celebrating the 140th anniversary of their church's founding on
- 3 February 15, 2015; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Also known as Third Baptist Church, this venerable
- 5 house of worship traces its history to February 1875, when the
- 6 Reverend C. Ward and 18 charter members gathered in the home of
- 7 Elisa Hawkins, and the congregation soon built a frame structure a
- 8 few blocks away, at the corner of Catalpa and Curve Streets; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Within its first decade, the church outgrew that
- 10 initial building, and in 1885 the membership completed construction
- 11 of a new home at East 10th and San Marcos Streets, the same location
- 12 Ebenezer Baptist occupies today; the present Gothic-style
- 13 limestone and brick sanctuary dates to the early 1950s, and the
- 14 tower features the same bell that was used in the church's early
- 15 years; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Ebenezer Baptist Church has nurtured a rich
- 17 tradition of musical excellence, due in large part to the efforts of
- 18 Virgie Carrington-Dewitty, who served as director of music for more
- 19 than a half-century; it was under her direction in 1938 that the
- 20 Ebenezer choir became the first African American gospel group to be
- 21 heard on a commercial radio program in Texas; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Over the decades, Ebenezer Baptist Church has
- 23 benefited from the dedicated efforts of a number of outstanding
- 24 members of the clergy, including its current pastor, the Reverend

H.R. No. 400

- 1 Dr. Ricky Freeman, who has ably led the congregation since 2012; a
- 2 centerpiece of the local community, the church offers a variety of
- 3 commendable programs, including those focused on mission outreach
- 4 and youth development, and its scholarship committee annually
- 5 provides financial assistance to the congregation's college-bound
- 6 members; moreover, the church formed the East Austin Economic
- 7 Development Corporation in 1988, an initiative that has partnered
- 8 with other organizations and businesses to revitalize underserved
- 9 areas of the city; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Countless Austin residents have looked to Ebenezer
- 11 Baptist Church for spiritual guidance during its long history, and
- 12 the congregation is indeed deserving of special recognition as it
- 13 marks this special anniversary milestone; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby commemorate the 140th anniversary of the
- 16 founding of Ebenezer Baptist Church and extend to the church's
- 17 congregants sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 20 House of Representatives.

Dukes

H.R. No. 400

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Dale Laubenberg Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat

Nevárez

Oliveira

Gonzales

González

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 400
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 400 was a 11, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House