H.R. No. 404

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A 70th wedding anniversary marks a lifetime of
- 2 mutual devotion and shared experiences, and C. W. and Louise Elston
- 3 of Mineola celebrated this joyous milestone in their marriage on
- 4 August 24, 2014; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Elston were joined in matrimony in 1944
- 6 at a ceremony held at the First Methodist Church of Canton,
- 7 Illinois; through the years, they have been blessed with a
- 8 treasured family that includes their children, Betsy
- 9 Elston-Snethen, Richard Elston, Robin Elston, and a
- 10 daughter-in-law, Brenda Elston, as well as their 7 grandchildren
- 11 and 12 great-grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Soon after becoming husband and wife, the newlyweds
- 13 were separated by World War II for two years as Mr. Elston served
- 14 with the army in Europe and his bride worked for International
- 15 Harvester to support the war effort; returning home after his
- 16 honorable discharge, Mr. Elston was employed with a bank, became an
- 17 accountant, and opened an income tax and bookkeeping business in
- 18 1949, from which he retired less than five years ago; Mrs. Elston
- 19 has devoted herself to her home and family throughout their
- 20 marriage, and she especially enjoys gardening; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Elston have enjoyed seven decades of
- 22 abiding love and affection for each other, and they are among an
- 23 exceptional group of men and women who can claim such a lasting
- 24 commitment; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 404

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate C. W. and Louise Elston on their
- 3 70th wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the couple as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 404

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 404 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House