H.R. No. 428

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A 60th wedding anniversary marks a lifetime of 2 mutual devotion and shared experiences, and Jack and Peggy Jones of 3 Mineola celebrated this joyous milestone in their marriage on 4 December 22, 2014; and

5 WHEREAS, Jack Jones met Peggy June Copeland prior to leaving 6 Texas for the U.S. Navy's Officer Candidate School, and while he was 7 away, the couple corresponded every day; only 18 days after their 8 reunion, they were married in Corsicana, and through the years they 9 became the parents of two sons; and

10 WHEREAS, A graduate of the University of North Texas, 11 Mr. Jones was in active service in the navy for four years, with 12 another 18 years in the reserves, and he retired at the rank of 13 lieutenant commander; in civilian life, he is retired from the 14 Internal Revenue Service; following her college graduation, 15 Mrs. Jones worked for the Richardson schools as an educator and 16 administrator, until her retirement; and

WHEREAS, Residents of Mineola since 1995, Mr. and Mrs. Jones are respected members of the community; Mr. Jones is a two-term member of the Mineola City Council, and he is active with Methodist Men and the Caring and Sharing group; Mrs. Jones is a member of P.E.O. International, Methodist Women, and the Study Club; and

WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Jones have enjoyed six decades of abiding love and affection for each other, and they are among an exceptional group of men and women who can claim such a lasting

1

H.R. No. 428

1 commitment; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Jack and Peggy Jones on their 60th 4 wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for 5 continued happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the couple as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 428

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 428 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House