RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Larry Phillips has announced plans to retire as 2 president of Angelina College in Lufkin in 2015, drawing to a close 3 an outstanding tenure of nearly 25 years with that institution; and WHEREAS, Since his installation as the second president of 4 5 Angelina College in 1991, Dr. Phillips has overseen significant growth in a number of key areas, ranging from student enrollment to 6 7 programs and facilities; under his leadership, capital improvements have included the construction of an activity center, 8 9 a performing arts center, a community services and conference building, a center for technology and workforce development, and a 10 11 new health careers building; moreover, Dr. Phillips has guided the 12 opening of nine off-campus education centers, further expanding learning opportunities for residents of East Texas; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Before taking the helm of Angelina College, Dr. Phillips served as the South Campus president of Lone Star 15 College from 1984 to 1991; his career in education spans five 16 decades and includes more than 40 years as a community college 17 administrator, following 8 years as a teacher and administrator at 18 the secondary school level; a 1964 graduate of Rice University, he 19 20 holds a master's degree from The University of Texas and a doctorate 21 in educational administration from the University of Houston; and 22 WHEREAS, Committed to advancing the well-being of his region 23 and its citizens, Dr. Phillips has served as president of the Deep 24 East Texas Development Association and as a member of the board of

- H.R. No. 442
- 1 the Lufkin/Angelina County Economic Development Partnership, the
- 2 Beth and Horace Stubblefield Learning Center, and Family Place
- 3 Lufkin; he is also a member of the Lufkin Rotary Club and the
- 4 Lufkin/Angelina Chamber of Commerce; in addition, Dr. Phillips has
- 5 given generously of his time and talents in behalf of a number of
- 6 professional organizations, serving as president of the
- 7 Association of Texas Colleges and Universities, as a member of the
- 8 executive committee of the Texas Association of Community Colleges,
- 9 and as a presidential representative to the National Junior College
- 10 Athletic Association; and
- 11 WHEREAS, For his important contributions to education and to
- 12 his community, this distinguished administrator was named East
- 13 Texan of the Year by the Deep East Texas Council of Governments in
- 14 2013, and he was the recipient of the Silver Bucket Award of the
- 15 Texas Forest Country Partnership in 2011; and
- WHEREAS, Angelina College has gained immeasurably from the
- 17 skilled and farsighted leadership that Dr. Larry Phillips has
- 18 demonstrated throughout his long tenure as president, and his
- 19 record of achievement will continue to resonate at the school in the
- 20 years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Larry Phillips for his service as
- 23 president of Angelina College and extend to him sincere best wishes
- 24 for continued success and fulfillment in all his endeavors; and, be
- 25 it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for Dr. Phillips as an expression of high regard by the

H.R. No. 442

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 442

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray
Galindo	Muñoz, Jr. Murphy	White of Tyler

	H.R. No. 442
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 442 was 11, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House