H.R. No. 469

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of Providence Missionary Baptist Church 2 in Angleton celebrated with great joy the 150th anniversary of 3 their church's founding in 2014; and

WHEREAS, In 1864, the church was established on a parcel of land previously known as the Chenango Plantation in the County of Brazoria by a group of freed slaves for the purpose of prayer, praise, and worship; and

8 WHEREAS, Over the years, Providence Missionary Baptist 9 Church has served as a source of inspiration and guidance to those 10 who worship there, and its continued existence is a tribute to the 11 unwavering commitment and dedication of its members, both past and 12 present; and

13 WHEREAS, The congregation has flourished, strengthening its 14 foundation for Christian youth, adult ministry, and outreach 15 ministry, and the membership continues to make improvements to the 16 church facilities; and

WHEREAS, For a century and a half, Providence Missionary Baptist Church has met the needs of many residents in surrounding areas who seek a full and meaningful spiritual life, and it is a pleasure to join in honoring the church at this special time in its rich history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the 150th anniversary of Providence Missionary Baptist Church and extend to its clergy and congregation

1

H.R. No. 469

1 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira Otto

Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 469

H.R. No. 469

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 469 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House