H.R. No. 471

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many dedicated officers of the Texas Parks and 2 Wildlife Department are visiting Austin on February 12, 2015, to 3 celebrate Texas Game Warden Day at the State Capitol and to 4 commemorate 120 years of service to the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1895, when the office of Fish and Oyster 6 Commissioner was created by the 24th Texas Legislature, game 7 wardens have played an essential role in wildlife conservation; the 8 Fish and Oyster Commission was given jurisdiction in 1899 over all 9 public waters, including freshwater streams, lakes, and ponds, and 10 its purview was soon extended to shrimping and hunting; and

11 WHEREAS, The name of the agency later became the Game, Fish, 12 and Oyster Commission, and it changed again several times to reflect the expansion of its mission until, in 1963, it merged with 13 14 the State Parks Board to form the current agency; in 1919, there were just six wardens, but their numbers grew as their duties 15 continued to evolve, encompassing such tasks as the promotion of 16 recreational water safety and the apprehension of criminals 17 involved in a range of illegal activities in addition to wildlife 18 law violations; and 19

20 WHEREAS, In 1971, the legislature formally recognized as 21 peace officers all law enforcement officers within the Texas Parks 22 and Wildlife Department; the state is served today by some 530 game 23 wardens, whose responsibilities have grown to include 24 participation in homeland security initiatives on the state's

1

H.R. No. 471

1 border with Mexico; and

2 WHEREAS, For well over a century, game wardens have enforced 3 natural resource conservation laws in the Lone Star State, and 4 their vital contributions have earned the deep appreciation of all 5 Texans; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2015, as Texas Game 8 Warden Day at the State Capitol and honor these outstanding 9 professionals as they commemorate 120 years of public service.

Kacal

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 471

H.R. No. 471

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 471 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House