H.R. No. 483

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of White Rock Missionary Baptist Church
- 2 in Houston are celebrating the 50th anniversary of their church's
- 3 founding on February 24, 2015; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1965 by Dr. Rodney S. Thomas, the
- 5 White Rock congregation initially gathered in the home of Mr. and
- 6 Mrs. H. T. Jones before relocating in 1967 to South Hall Street; in
- 7 June 1991, a new worship facility was built nearby on Darien Street,
- 8 where services are still held today; and
- 9 WHEREAS, After Dr. Thomas passed away in 1990, his son,
- 10 Dr. Moses A. Thomas, was elected pastor, and he has ably led the
- 11 church for the past two and a half decades; under the direction of
- 12 its two dynamic leaders, White Rock Missionary Baptist Church has
- 13 been an integral part of the Rosewood Estates community, providing
- 14 a range of commendable programs that foster fellowship and offer
- 15 help to those in need; and
- 16 WHEREAS, White Rock Missionary Baptist Church has served for
- 17 half a century as a source of inspiration and guidance to those who
- 18 worship there, and its continued existence is a testament to the
- 19 unwavering commitment of its members and clergy, both past and
- 20 present; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of White Rock
- 23 Missionary Baptist Church and extend to the congregation sincere
- 24 best wishes for the future; and, be it further

H.R. No. 483

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Thompson of Harris

H.R. No. 483

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Ashby Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. NO. 483
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 483 was	adopted by the House on February
17, 2015, by a non-record vote.	
	,
	Chief Clerk of the House