H.R. No. 484

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Cedar Hill High School football team once again
reached the pinnacle of success by winning the University
Interscholastic League 6A Division 2 state championship on December
20, 2014, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, Continuing their school's tradition of gridiron excellence, the Longhorns claimed their second consecutive state 6 title and their third in the past nine years with a thrilling 7 triumph in a championship rematch against Katy High School; 8 trailing 13-2 at halftime, Cedar Hill came roaring back in the third 9 quarter through an offensive aerial assault, with platooning 10 11 quarterbacks Justin McMillan and Avery Davis each throwing a 12 touchdown pass on consecutive possessions to give Cedar Hill a 17-13 lead; Katy answered with seven points of its own, but the 13 14 Longhorns soon tied the score with a 44-yard field goal; as the clock dwindled, the defense made crucial stops to force a punt, and 15 16 in the final nail-biting seconds, kicker Brooks Ralph put the ball through the uprights to seal a 23-20 victory; and 17

18 WHEREAS, The Longhorn offense was led by senior receiver 19 DaMarkus Lodge, who racked up 101 yards on four receptions and 20 accounted for both of the team's touchdowns on his way to earning 21 the game's Offensive Most Valuable Player award; and

22 WHEREAS, Focused on their slogan "Be Remembered," the 23 Longhorns received valuable contributions throughout the year from 24 each player on the roster, and together they posted a season record

1

H.R. No. 484

1 of 14 wins and only 2 losses and were rated ninth in the nation in the MaxPreps Xcellent 25 rankings; these determined athletes were 2 3 guided by head coach Joey McGuire and his staff, whose expertise and were essential to the players' 4 leadership exceptional 5 performances; numerous Longhorns earned All-District or All-State honors, including 32 who were recognized for their academic 6 achievements at the district level; moreover, Mr. Lodge, Richard 7 8 Moore, and Coach McGuire were chosen to take part in prestigious All-American games; and 9

10 WHEREAS, In winning back-to-back state titles, the Longhorns 11 of Cedar Hill High School have earned a place among the elite teams 12 in Texas high school football, and the players will forever 13 treasure their memories of this notable accomplishment; now, 14 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Cedar Hill High School football team on winning the UIL 6A Division 2 state championship for 2014 and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 22 House of Representatives.

> Giddings Davis of Dallas

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales González

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menéndez Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 484

H.R. No. 484

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 484 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House