## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The directors and staff of the North Plains 2 Groundwater Conservation District celebrated the 60th anniversary 3 of its establishment on January 21, 2015, and this significant milestone offers fitting opportunity to 4 а recognize 5 contributions of the district to the northern Panhandle region; and WHEREAS, In 1955, voters approved the State Board of Water 6 Engineers' creation of the North Plains Groundwater Conservation 7 District for the purpose of managing groundwater resources north of 8 9 the Canadian River; the district was originally composed of Hartley, Moore, Sherman, Hansford, Hutchinson, and Ochiltree 10 11 Counties, and eventually Lipscomb and Dallam Counties joined the 12 region; and 13 WHEREAS, In addition to confirming that rules and standards 14 are met, the North Plains Groundwater Conservation District collects and maintains data, performs water quality analyses, 15 16 issues well permits, and creates educational opportunities for stakeholders and area schools; for the past nine years, the 17 district has organized Save The Planet's Water Festivals, which 18 have helped more than 5,000 students and teachers learn about and 19 20 recognize their role in the stewardship of natural resources; and WHEREAS, In 2010, the board of directors introduced the 21 22 200-12 Reduced Irrigation on Corn Demonstration Project to help 23 save irrigation water while maintaining crop yields; the 200-12 Project has been recognized by the Texas Water Conservation 24

- 1 Advisory Council with the 2011 Blue Legacy Award for Agriculture
- 2 and by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the Office
- 3 of the Governor with the 2012 Texas Environmental Excellence Award
- 4 for Agriculture; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Currently, the organization is led by general
- 6 manager Steve Walthour, and it further benefits from the dedicated
- 7 work of its staff and engineers, Jerry Green, Dale Hallmark,
- 8 Kristen Lane, Patsy Long, Karen Mannis, Leon New, Mike Pitts,
- 9 Pauletta Rhoades, Sherry Robinett, Curtis Schwertner, Paul Sigle,
- 10 Shari Stanford, Casey Tice, Odell Ward, Kirk Welch, and Laura West;
- 11 also deserving of acknowledgment are members of the district board,
- 12 Gene Born, Justin Crownover, Harold Grall, Mark Howard, Danny
- 13 Krienke, Zac Yoder, and Bob Zimmer, whose direction and oversight
- 14 have been invaluable to the district's operation; and
- WHEREAS, For six decades, the North Plains Groundwater
- 16 Conservation District has worked to provide prudent and effective
- 17 administration of regional groundwater supplies, thereby ensuring
- 18 the availability of this precious resource for Texans today and for
- 19 generations to come; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby commemorate the 60th anniversary of the North
- 22 Plains Groundwater Conservation District and extend to the
- 23 district's manager, staff, engineers, and board members sincere
- 24 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the district board and staff as an expression of high
- 3 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Price

Straus Guerra Otto Allen Guillen Paddie Alonzo Gutierrez Parker Alvarado Harless Paul Anchia Hernandez Peña Anderson of Dallas Herrero Phelan Anderson of McLennan Phillips Howard Huberty Pickett Aycock Hughes Price Bell Hunter Raney Blanco Raymond Isaac Israel Reynolds Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Riddle Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rinaldi Burkett Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burns Keough King of Hemphill Burrows Romero, Jr. Button King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Uvalde Canales Sanford Capriglione Schaefer Klick Schofield Clardy Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Simpson Larson Laubenberg Dale Smith Darby Leach Smithee Davis of Dallas Longoria Spitzer Davis of Harris Lozano Springer Lucio III Deshotel Stephenson Dukes Márquez Stickland Dutton Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Elkins Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris McClendon Faircloth Tinderholt Fallon Menéndez Turner of Collin Farias Metcalf Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Meyer Miles Farrar VanDeaver Miller of Comal Fletcher Villalba Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo Morrison White of Bell Muñoz, Jr. White of Tyler Galindo Geren Murphy Workman Wray Giddings Murr Goldman Naishtat Zedler Gonzales Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

González

	H.R. No. 498
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 498 was 19, 2015, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	, <del></del>
	Chief Clerk of the House