By: Price

H.R. No. 498

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The directors and staff of the North Plains 2 Groundwater Conservation District celebrated the 60th anniversary 3 of its establishment on January 21, 2015, and this significant 4 milestone offers a fitting opportunity to recognize the 5 contributions of the district to the northern Panhandle region; and

6 WHEREAS, In 1955, voters approved the State Board of Water 7 Engineers' creation of the North Plains Groundwater Conservation 8 District for the purpose of managing groundwater resources north of 9 the Canadian River; the district was originally composed of 10 Hartley, Moore, Sherman, Hansford, Hutchinson, and Ochiltree 11 Counties, and eventually Lipscomb and Dallam Counties joined the 12 region; and

WHEREAS, In addition to confirming that rules and standards 13 14 are met, the North Plains Groundwater Conservation District collects and maintains data, performs water quality analyses, 15 16 issues well permits, and creates educational opportunities for stakeholders and area schools; for the past nine years, the 17 district has organized Save The Planet's Water Festivals, which 18 have helped more than 5,000 students and teachers learn about and 19 20 recognize their role in the stewardship of natural resources; and

21 WHEREAS, In 2010, the board of directors introduced the 22 200-12 Reduced Irrigation on Corn Demonstration Project to help 23 save irrigation water while maintaining crop yields; the 200-12 24 Project has been recognized by the Texas Water Conservation

1

H.R. No. 498

Advisory Council with the 2011 Blue Legacy Award for Agriculture
and by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the Office
of the Governor with the 2012 Texas Environmental Excellence Award
for Agriculture; and

5 WHEREAS, Currently, the organization is led by general manager Steve Walthour, and it further benefits from the dedicated 6 work of its staff and engineers, Jerry Green, Dale Hallmark, 7 8 Kristen Lane, Patsy Long, Karen Mannis, Leon New, Mike Pitts, Pauletta Rhoades, Sherry Robinett, Curtis Schwertner, Paul Sigle, 9 10 Shari Stanford, Casey Tice, Odell Ward, Kirk Welch, and Laura West; also deserving of acknowledgment are members of the district board, 11 12 Gene Born, Justin Crownover, Harold Grall, Mark Howard, Danny Krienke, Zac Yoder, and Bob Zimmer, whose direction and oversight 13 14 have been invaluable to the district's operation; and

15 WHEREAS, For six decades, the North Plains Groundwater 16 Conservation District has worked to provide prudent and effective 17 administration of regional groundwater supplies, thereby ensuring 18 the availability of this precious resource for Texans today and for 19 generations to come; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas 21 Legislature hereby commemorate the 60th anniversary of the North 22 Plains Groundwater Conservation District and extend to the 23 district's manager, staff, engineers, and board members sincere 24 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

25 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 26 prepared for the district board and staff as an expression of high 27 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2